Why I Believe

It’s complicated. I can give you numerous reasons why I believe in God and why I accepted Jesus Christ. I can recount unexplainable events in my life that could never be confused with coincidence. Both prior to salvation and after. I can tell you how it feels when I know I’m in His presence.I can tell you about how it’s changed me and how I look at life. I can tell you of overnight changes I’ve witnessed in others. I can ask you to read Evolution vs. Creation.I can tell you all this, as long as you have a few hours to spare.

My life has been a series of bad decisions and focused on myself. I experienced some traumatic events during childhood that had left me bitter and feeling as if I was unloveable, and leaving me unable to really know how to love either myself or others.

But it has also experienced some very lucky occurrences.. if you believe luck is all there is to it.

One major event was finding I needed immediate heart surgery when I was 11, due to a physical needed in order to attend a summer camp. So I missed camp and spent 10 days in the hospital. But I lived.

One really notable event happened when I was 20. A few days before Christmas, I was driving from NC home to WV. Late at night on a long stretch of nowheresville, my tire blew. There was absolutely no traffic, no houses, no lights, pitch dark. What can I do but slowly drive along the shoulder looking for any sign of life I can find. I soon see a pinpoint of light in the distance. As I get closer, I realize it’s a porch light from a house sitting far back off the road. So I take a deep breath and plunge into the darkness, keeping my eyes on that small speck of humanity. I maybe had gone all of 15 feet when…

Barbed wire! Now who in the world puts barbed wire in the middle of nowhere? Well seeing as I have no choice, I gather my resolve, pull the wires apart enough to squeeze through, trying my best not to get snagged on it. I trudge on up through the high weeds and see the light at the back of the house, so I go around to the back and I’m standing at an open door staring at three really big men playing cards. Caught like a deer in the headlights, I contemplated running, but there was that barbed wire, and where could I go?  The guys seemed nice. They said a friend owned a junkyard down the road and they’d get me a tire, while the other guy had me go to his house out back to wait.

Now at this point, I know this won’t end well.  So…we get to his house and I have nothing else I can do but go in. A Christmas special is playing on the television as he introduces me to his wife and two kids. All-in-all, it ended up being a pretty good evening. I don’t know how long it was until his friends returned and said I was all set. They’d snagged me a tire and changed it in the dark. As I was ready to head out, they told me I was very lucky. Just minutes before I showed up, they’d chained up the dogs.

Some people might call this luck, but I don’t believe luck runs this far. Now I understand, God had a plan.

 

Leave a Reply

